The Fence
News and Views

Long-Term support boosted for flood-affected North Queensland

flood queensland stock image

Community Development Officers will soon be working on the ground in eight northern Queensland councils to help recovery efforts after the monsoonal floods.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements.

Federal Minister for Natural Disaster and Emergency Management David Littleproud said the Government was investing $5.25 million in the programme.

“The officers will work out what different communities need to recover and help them get it,” Minister Littleproud said.

“Long-term support is needed and these officers will be around for the long-haul.

“They’ll be community-driven offering face-to-face help which is important in isolated areas.

“We’ll keep working with the state to make sure people in hardship have the support they need.”

Minister for Communities Coralee O’Rourke said the Community Development Program would provide longer-term support to affected communities, aiding individuals, families and the community to recover and build resilience.

“The community development officers will play an important role in long-term recovery by working with the communities to identify their needs and aspirations, facilitate developmental opportunities, arrange community planning days and support community recovery and resilience projects,” Minister O’Rourke said

“Around $30 million in jointly-funded Emergency Hardship Assistance grants has already been distributed in the aftermath of the disaster.

“Significant financial hardship support and counselling services have also been provided by our non-government partners including St Vincent De Paul, Uniting Care QLD – Lifeline, Red Cross, GIVIT and Salvation Army.

“Our efforts aren’t limited to the short-term, and we remain committed to the long-term recovery of affected communities.”

Community Development Officers will be based in the following council areas:

  • Carpentaria Shire Council – to work across the Carpentaria local government areas
  • Cloncurry Shire Council – to work across Cloncurry and Burke local government areas
  • Cook Shire Council – to work across Cook, Douglas and Wujal Wujal local government areas
  • Flinders Shire Council – to work across the Flinders local government area
  • McKinlay Shire Council – to work across the McKinlay local government area
  • Richmond Shire Council – to work across the Richmond local government area
  • Townsville City Council – two CDOs in Townsville to work across the Townsville local government area and surrounds
  • Winton Shire Council – to work across the Winton local government area

Source: Australian Government

Most Popular

Newsletter Signup

The Fence
To Top